You may think that your accident was minor and there is no need to file a police report. At Springer & Lyle, we are concerned about people who fail to file a police report only to later discover they were harmed and have medical problems because of a negligent driver causing the accident.
Texas Law Has Requirements for Filing a Police Report After an Accident
Texas law requires you to report an accident if anyone was injured or killed, or if the vehicle has been so severely damaged it cannot be “normally and safely driven.” Thea report shall be given by “the quickest means of communication.”
Texas law requires the report to be given to:
- Local police department if the accident was in a municipality.
- Local police department or the sheriff’s office if the accident was not more than 100 feet outside the limits of a municipality.
- Sheriff’s office or the nearest office of the department if the accident is not required to be reported according to law.
When a peace officer is notified of an accident where there was an injury or death, or property damage of $1,000 or more, the officer is required to make a written report of the accident and file it electronically no later than 10 days after the accident.
The officer may open an investigation into the accident and file “justifiable charges.”
Filing a Police Report May Help You with Your Personal Injury Lawsuit
The police report is used by insurance companies and attorneys in evaluating who was or may be at fault for the accident. It is important for you and your lawyer to get the police report. Sometimes, corrections need to be made.
For example, if the report says you were at fault and you clearly were not, you need to dispute this by providing evidence that the officer’s report made errors. Personal injury attorneys do their own investigation and use the report to begin their investigation, but do not rely on the police report exclusively.
The personal injury attorneys at Springer & Lyle can help you obtain the reasonable compensation you are entitled for your injuries, lost wages, medical expenses, pain and suffering, and other physical damage. Contact us at 940-387-0404 for a free consultation.
Leave a Reply
You must be logged in to post a comment.